Mt. Tom, almost


I’ve wanted to fly Mt. Tom for quite a while, and I finally got a chance to show up, with Jon A and a bunch of other PG pilots. I could make a long story out of this, but the short version is that at a site where it’s important to launch well, it doesn’t work out if you launch very poorly — see picture above. I ended up in the bushes, they helped me carry the glider back up, and I packed up and went home. No injury, and only minor damage to the glider, nothing that would make me hesitate to fly it if I were being chased by zombies.

It’s been that kind of week. As I write this on Wednesday night, the Check Engine light in my car has come on.

About cleversky

Hang glider pilot in New England since 2004. Also an avid orienteer, and an embedded systems firmware engineer. And some other outdoor stuff.
This entry was posted in Site visits. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Mt. Tom, almost

  1. That sounds like the kind of week Hillary had. When it really counted to launch well, she ended up in the bushes as well. However if one of the two of you is to keep going I hope it is you . I am glad you are ok and please keep writing, I like this blog a lot.
    I would like to hear in more detail what happened if you feel like writing it sometime.

Leave a Reply

