Indian summer


On Friday, I had to leave work early to pick up my mother from the ER, where she had gone for a minor issue, but had to wait for hours, and she doesn’t drive after dark. This meant that on Saturday I was potentially going to have trouble making it to Rutland in time to meet the gang because we had to go back to the hospital to get her car, but she was happy to do that early, and I was in the Pit by 10:30. It looked like it might be flyable, but either way, it was in the 60s in November, and hanging out on a mountain was going to be fun anyway. While setting up, I mentioned that it was even late enough in the year that there wouldn’t be any bugs, and a minute later found a tick crawling on my hand. It was deer season, and some hunters were rolling out of the cabin up at launch when we arrived.

John S said it was soarable as soon as he got a look at the sock, so we set up quickly, but Dan G was ready first… and sank out.

Dan G exhibiting fine form


Amy drove down to grab him for a send go while Al A launched and fought his way up. John went next and he always soars, then it was my turn. I picked my cycle well, and in four minutes I got 1000 feet over launch. Woohoo! It was basically an all-thermal day, and I went over to the bowl to see if I could find any (usually, but not today), and I had launched without gloves but put them on since things were going well, and by that time I had lost half of my gain. A soft cycle was coming, and Keith B launched after me and found nothing. After scratching for a bit below launch, I gave up and headed for the LZ. Those who went a little later were rewarded with nice soaring flights, about 15 pilots in all.




On the way home, the full moon was coming up, and I stopped and tried to get a picture.

flights: 1, airtime: 0:20

About cleversky

Hang glider pilot in New England since 2004. Also an avid orienteer, and an embedded systems firmware engineer. And some other outdoor stuff.
This entry was posted in Flying days, West Rutland. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

