Nick of time


The standard arrangement for Rutland is “meet at the Pit at 11”. So when people were going up, that’s what I was shooting for, in order to get a ride up the mountain. So when I was approaching the Pit at 10:58, I was surprised to see a couple of loaded vehicles already heading the other way toward launch. I stuck my thumb out the window to signal that I wanted to hitch a ride, but they just waved, not understanding. A quick U-turn and I followed them to the gate, where I hopped out and pleaded for a ride. They were happy to oblige, and I left my car at the base of the road. Fortunately, this meant that I was among the first up there (I could have gotten a ride from others later), which put me in a good position for launch.

It was, in fact, a big crowd that showed up, among the busiest flying days of the year for me. Not a day for much altitude, though, it was mostly just back and forth on the ridge, with only a few thermals to turn in, and only one climb that got me over 3000 feet. But it was a day when I managed to hold on (not everybody did), and I was among the last to land, opting for the field on the south side of the road with a couple of other pilots, and then a jog back to fetch my car.

And I managed to take a decent number of pictures, some of which came out okay.

Bo S


Gary C and Keith B


John G


Bob R and Mike H


Beth H


Jon A and John S


Fred M


Al A


Dave B


Dave P


Amy R


Ilya R


Scott B

flights: 1, airtime: 2:06

About cleversky

Hang glider pilot in New England since 2004. Also an avid orienteer, and an embedded systems firmware engineer. And some other outdoor stuff.
This entry was posted in Flying days, West Rutland. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

