Another sledder

Over the 4th of July weekend there were a few days when various sites worked to varying degrees, but I had other commitments. On Tuesday the 5th, however, I needed to go to Vermont anyway, and a few pilots were converging at Ascutney, so I brought my glider and joined them (Jeff B, Jake, Rodger, and Pat M, with Ryan driving). There was a big cloud shutting out the sunlight for a while, but we waited until 2:45 when things started heating up nicely, and we all piled off of launch in rapid succession. Everybody climbed up and out and went over the back for flights ranging from 7 to 26 miles. Except me. Fifteen minutes of searching in vain for a parcel of air that would carry me up, and then I was on the ground. I took so few pictures that you get to see them all.

Last year, I didn’t manage to get a decent flight until the end of July, and this year seems to be working out about the same. I don’t know why I even bother to bring my glider out before August is looming. At least I’m getting a little launch and landing practice.

flights: 1, airtime: 0:16

About cleversky

Hang glider pilot in New England since 2004. Also an avid orienteer, and an embedded systems firmware engineer. And some other outdoor stuff.
This entry was posted in Ascutney, Flying days. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

