Not according to the original plan…

[ Fed Up WIth Life Mood: Fed Up WIth Life ]
There aren’t many choices available for the “mood” thing in this blog software, and most of them seem more suited to disaffected teenagers than pilots, which is why I rarely use them. “Fed Up With Life” isn’t exactly right for this entry, but once I saw that it came with the headbanger icon, I decided to go with it anyway. In part because I like that little animation. And anybody who knows me from another side of my life who is familiar with my CMC exercise regimen will know what I mean. But as far as flying goes…

There are days when wrong decisions get made. Wrong in the sense that a different choice would have resulted in a better outcome. This was one of those days. A bunch of the decisions had nothing to do with hang gliding, some did, and the end result was that I flew a new-to-me site (Petersburg Pass) and landed safely. As Gary put it, any day when we don’t have to drag pilots out of the trees is a good day. The details of the wrong decisions need not be of any concern to you, dear reader.

First, hearty thanks to Bo S., Denis L., Luis C., and Gary T. for the work clearing vegetation at launch, and to Jeff C. for driving, especially because only Luiz got to fly. And to Nancy for taking pictures.

Luiz went first, and didn’t stay in the air too long.

I went next, with Jeff and Gary providing wire assist.

There was definitely lift available.

Nancy has a pretty fancy camera, with an 11X zoom, so she can get some impressive pictures. You can click on this to get to a page where you can download it in full resolution (I just cropped out some blue sky). So… WTF? Does this picture look weird to anybody else? I know what it looks like to me, and I don’t recall anything of the sort whatsoever. But it makes me a little anxious.

Nice spot for a landing. In some regards.

flights: 1, airtime: 0:09

About cleversky

Hang glider pilot in New England since 2004. Also an avid orienteer, and an embedded systems firmware engineer. And some other outdoor stuff.
This entry was posted in Flying days, other. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

